Spring pole lathe finished

A fellow traveler has also made a spring pole lathe and has used it for turning drop spindles! That is one of the projects I have been considering for my spring pole lathe. Nice walnut drop spindle, too!

Wilder Woodworking

My spring pole lathe finally came together. I had a little difficulty with the sapling. The first one I used was too thin and broke. It all worked out in the end and I am pleased with the results.

Image

 

Image

 

 

I used the lathe to turn a drop spindle and I am beginning to get the hang of it. I still need to make some adjustments and make a tool rest. (I’ve just been clamping a piece of wood) Anyway, here is the drop spindle. It blends a few different styles of traditional drop spindles and features a brass hook at the top. 

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

This spindle is available for purchase here: www.etsy.com/listing/162888445/black-walnut-drop-spindle?

 

View original post

Leave a Reply

